ffxivtips : Tree of Savior Character Progression Guide

ffxivtips : Tree of Savior Character Progression Guide

While it is called the spiritual successor of Ragnarok Online and both games do share a lot of features, including the leveling system, the progression of a character in Tree of Savior is a little more complex.


As in Ragnarok Online, your character has two separate EXP bars, and thus two different levels.

  • Character Level (Base Level)
  • Class level (Job Level)

When you complete quests or eliminate monsters, your associated EXP bars are filled. When the bar is full, your level goes up, and the gauge will reset, with a higher amount of EXP being required for the next level as shown here, nothing out of the ordinary. The two EXP bars will look as follows.


You may also take a look at the following articles for the amount of EXP required per Character Level and Class Level.


The character level is used for everything related to limitations: the minimum level required to equip or use an item, or the level recommended to enter an area or dungeon, etc.

In addition, with each new character level, you get stat points that you can assign as you wish to your Strength, Constitution, Intelligence, Spirit, and Dexterity. Again, nothing that should seem too foreign compared to other MMORPG's.


The class level, on the other hand, allows you to unlock new skills or upgrade older ones for your character. The class level will be the basis of the class building aspect of the game, allowing players to climb up skill trees. This might however get slightly confusing when you are unfamiliar with the notions of Class Ranks and Class Circles.


When creating your character, you have to select a class: Swordsman, Wizard, Archer or Cleric. Each of these four base classes provides access to different skills and an  evolutionary tree of several classes. These will also be the first class of your character, and be of Rank 1.

At each class level, regardless of the Rank, you get 1 point to spend on your skills.

Once you reach level 15, however, your class level will stop increasing, and you will have the option of upgrading your character to the next Rank. This can be done through the "Advancement" feature, where you will have two options.

The first one will be changing your class to one of the two new available ones. An Archer player will, for example, have access to the Quarrel Shooter and Ranger classes when advancing from Rank 1 to Rank 2, providing them access to a whole new set of skills.

The second option might make your progression slightly harder, as you will not be unlocking a new set of skills. Indeed, instead of changing the class of your character, you will be simply advancing the current one to the next Circle. Upgrading your Class Circle nonetheless generally give you access to 1-3 new skills, and allow you to further improve your older ones.

If you've decided that you want to upgrade your Rank 1 class to Circle 2, it is generally recommended to advance your character to a new class so that you gain access to new skills, before going back to the previous one and upgrading it to the next Circle.

It should also be noted that with each new Rank upgrade, the amount of EXP required per class level will go up, as shown here.


Put simply, Class Circles in Tree of Savior allow players to improve the proficiency of their initial class. If in Circle 1, the skills of your class will be limited to 5 levels each, advancing to Circle 2 will allow you to upgrade these skills up to level 10, up to a maximum of 15 levels in Circle 3. However, each Class Circle advancement will also give you access to new skills, and you will often have to choose between upgrading your previous skills, or dropping them in the favor of new ones.

Once you've reached Circle 3, you will no longer be able to advance the same class and will have to move to a different one.

For a better understanding of the Rank and Circle features, you may also take a look at our Tree of Savior Class Simulator.

Other TOS guides you may need:
Tree of Savior Guide: Treasure Chest Locations

CBT Tips: Possible Fix For @dicID Error [UPDATED]

Beginner Tips for Closed Beta – Server, Class, Craft and More
Money Making Guide For Beginners

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *